The RTA was created by Public Act No. 387 of 2012. Its 10-member board is appointed for three year terms by the county executives of Wayne, Oakland and Macomb counties, the chair of the Washtenaw County Board of Commissioners, the Mayor of Detroit, and the Governor of Michigan. The Governor’s appointee serves as chair and without a vote. Learn more about the RTA Board of Directors.

Our mission is to manage and secure transportation resources that significantly enhance mobility options, to improve quality of life for the residents and to increase economic viability for the region.

We envision a region with sufficient and secure funding to support enhanced public transportation options that will ensure accessibility, satisfy the integrated mobility needs of the community, and promote livable, healthy, and sustainable growth.

Enabling Legislation

Below are the pieces of Michigan legislation that created and enabled the Regional Transit Authority.

The Current System

The Southeast Michigan region is currently served by four transit providers: AAATA, DDOT, DTC, and SMART. See full map ⟶


Comments are closed.